Newspaper article The Topeka Capital-Journal

Northeast Kansas Students to Compete in Regional Spelling Bee on Saturday

Newspaper article The Topeka Capital-Journal

Northeast Kansas Students to Compete in Regional Spelling Bee on Saturday

Article excerpt

The region's best spellers will compete in The Topeka Capital- Journal's 63rd annual Regional Spelling Bee at 1 p.m. Saturday in the Seaman High School auditorium, 4850 N.W. Rochester Road.

About 50 students from 26 counties in the northeast Kansas region will compete in Saturday's oral spell down. In 2014, two vocabulary rounds were added. These oral rounds will alternate with the spelling rounds.

The regional champion will represent The Topeka Capital-Journal at the Scripps Howard National Spelling Bee from May 23-27 in Washington, D.C.

The Capital-Journal sponsors the weeklong trip for the winner and one of their parents.

The 2016 county representatives are:

- Anderson County

Jackson Calahan, eighth grade, Crest Elementary

Karyn Yoder, sixth grade, Mont Ida Elementary

- Atchison County

Ashtyn Jolly, sixth grade, Atchison County Community Jr./Sr. High

Felicity Worsham, seventh grade, St Benedict Catholic School

- Brown County

Carley Hammersmith, fifth grade, Everest Middle School

Avery Wischropp, seventh grade, Everest Middle School

- Clay County

Brooks Craig, fourth grade, Garfield Elementary School

Izayah Gonzales, seventh grade, Clay Center Community Middle School

- Cloud County

Jiselle Moore, eighth grade, Concordia Jr./Sr. High School

CJ Schirlinger, eighth grade, Miltonvale Jr./Sr. High School

- Coffey County

Audrey Durst, seventh grade, Lebo Elementary School

Katie Glenn, eighth grade, Burlington Middle School

- Dickinson County

Isaac Barbieri, sixth grade, Abilene Middle School

Makayla Blunden, eighth grade, Chapman Middle School

- Douglas County

Ayla Nguyen, seventh grade, Corpus Christi Catholic School

Bryn Perrins, seventh grade, Lawrence Southwest Middle School

- Franklin County

Marissa Haagensen, eighth grade, Wellsville Middle School

Aldan Michel, fifth grade, Garfield Elementary School

- Greenwood County

Erin Jones, eighth grade, Eureka Jr./Sr. High School

Evan Patchett, sixth grade, Marshall Elementary School

- Jackson County

Annalysse Allen, sixth grade, Jackson Heights

Hope Kebert, eighth grade, Holton Middle School

- Jefferson County

Trace Kesinger, sixth grade, Oskaloosa Elementary

Joe Ward, seventh grade, Perry-Lecompton Middle School

- Lyon County

Connor Kueser, fifth grade, Olpe Elementary School

Myra Phillips, eighth grade, North Lyon County Jr. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.