Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Eight Selected for Induction into Oklahoma Hall of Fame

Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Eight Selected for Induction into Oklahoma Hall of Fame

Article excerpt

Eight outstanding Oklahomans have been selected for induction into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 1988, according to Harold C. Stuart, president of the Oklahoma Heritage Association.

The honorees are: David L. Boren, Seminole; Ed L. Calhoon, Beaver; Richard D. Harrison, Oklahoma City; A.T. Stair Jr., Boston and Canton; Kay Starr, Los Angeles and Dougherty, Okla.; Patricia W. Wheeler, Tulsa; Joseph H. Williams, Tulsa; and Stanton L. Young, Oklahoma City.

Boren is a former governor of Oklahoma and senior U.S. Senator from Oklahoma. A Seminole native, he was a Rhoades Scholar and he received his law degree from the University of Oklahoma.

Calhoon, a native of Beaver, is nationally recognized as an outstanding physician and surgeon. Educated at the University of Oklahoma, he returned to Beaver to serve the people of the Panhandle. He has received numerous awards and recognitions, including the A.H. Robbins Community Service Award in 1980, given yearly to the Outstanding Oklahoma Medical Practioner, and the Oklahoma Physician of the Year Award in 1984, given by the Oklahoma University Health Science Center.

Harrison is chairman of the board of the Fleming Companies Inc. of Oklahoma City, serving until recently as chief executive officer since 1966.

Under his direction, the company has become one of the top wholesale food distribution organizations in the United States, with sales of over $8 billion in 1987. Harrison has served as president of the Supermarket Institute, chairman of the Independent Grocers Alliance, national chairman of the American Wholesale Grocers Association and on the board of directors of numerous major business corporations.

Stair is internationally recognized as one of the leading research scientists in the world. Born in Oklahoma City, he grew up in Canton and received the Ph.D. in Physics at the University of Oklahoma. Presently the head of A.T. Stair Associates Inc. He is a pioneer in two major technologies: Fourier Transform Spectroscopy and Totally Cryogenic Infrared Sensors for Laboratory, Rocket, and Space use. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.