Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Presenters of Nominees to State Hall of Fame Announced

Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Presenters of Nominees to State Hall of Fame Announced

Article excerpt

Presenters of the eight nominees to the Oklahoma Hall of Fame have been announced. The dinner and induction ceremony will be at 6:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 18, in the Myriad Convention Center.

The 1989 inductees are Virginia Thomas Austin, immediate past president and chief executive officer of the Associations of Junior Leagues Inc.; James R. Bellatti, publisher and editor of the Stillwater News Press; Gen. Bennie L. Davis, retired commander in chief of the Strategic Air Command and retired director of the Joint Strategic Target Planning Staff; William R. Howell, chairman and chief executive officer of J.C. Penney Co. Inc.; Tom P. McAdams, Jr., independent oilman and banker; George Nigh, former Oklahoma governor; C.J. (Pete) Silas, chairman and chief executive officer of Phillips Petroleum Co., and John S. (Jack) Zink, chairman and president of Zeeco, Inc.

Mrs. Austin will be presented for induction by the Rev. Thomas J. Harvey, Washington, D.C., executive director of Catholic Charities, U.S.A. Bellati's presenter will be Sam Evans, Salina, Kan., owner of Evans Grain Company and active in the international activities of the YMCA. Gen. Davis will be presented by Lew Allen Jr., Pasadena, Calif., director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratories which works with the Mars probes.

Thomas W. Landry (better known as just plain Tom), former head coach of the Dallas Cowboy Football Club, will present Howell. McAdams will be presented by H. A. (Dave) True Jr., Casper, WY, an independent oil man and head of True Oil Company. Former Gov. Nigh, who has presented the medallions to so many previous inductees, will be presented for his own induction by Arkansas Gov. Bill Clinton. Both Clinton and Nigh have taken the governor's oath four times and both have shared an interest in improving education.

Presenting Silas for induction will be Oluf C. Muller, Oslo, Norway, Secretary-General of the Ministry of Industry in Norway. Race car driver Bobby Unser, three-time winner of the Indianapolis 500, will introduce Zink.

President of the Oklahoma Heritage Association, which sponsors the Hall of Fame, is William C. Douce. The induction ceremony will be broadcast over OETA stations statewide.

Reservations for the annual dinner are available from the Heritage Center, 201 NW 14, Oklahoma City, 73103. . .

- And, speaking of OETA, the state's educational television outlet will give those of us who don't have cable the opportunity to view the opening ceremonies of Olympic Festival '89 in all their glory. Sunday, from 8 until 10 p.m., the ceremonies will be showcased.

Bob Allen, executive director of OETA, said, "Now everyone in Oklahoma will have the opportunity to enjoy one of the most patriotic events ever to occur in this state."

Highlights of the ceremonies include former president Ronald Reagan, Bob Hope, Gov. Henry Bellmon, actor James Garner and Oklahoma singers Kay Starr, Patti Page and Roger Miller.

You'll even get to see Olympic star Florence Griffith Joyner carry the Olymnpic torch onto the field. If the whole thing doesn't give you a thrill, you just ain't got heart!!!

Thank you in advance, Bob Allen! . .

- City Councilwoman Jackie Carey is bustin' her buttons these days. Her beautiful daughter, Elizabeth, has just been named general manager of the venerable and prestigious Old Ebbitts Grill in downtown Washington, D. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.