Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Medical Association Holds Women in Medicine Symposium

Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Medical Association Holds Women in Medicine Symposium

Article excerpt


The first Women in Medicine Symposium is scheduled to be at the 85th Annual Meeting of the Oklahoma State Medical Association, Friday and Saturday, at the Sheraton Century Center Hotel. Dr. Rebecca G. Tisdal will preside.

The expanding role of the steadily increasing number of women physicians will be the major theme of the meeting. Over 33 percent of new physicians are female, the association reports. The state medical association is comprised of more than 4,300 medical doctors.

Panelists discussing issues affecting female medical students, residents and practicing physicians will include: Dr. Kay K. Hanley of Clearwater, Fla., immediate past president of the Florida Medical Association; Dr. Palma E. Formica of Old Bridge, N.J., member of the American Medical Association Board of Trustees; and Oklahoma City physicians Sara R. DePersio, chairman of Oklahoma association's board of trustees; Carol Blackwell-Imes, president-elect of the Oklahoma County Medical Society; and Laura A. Rankin, associate professor of medicine at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine.

The association's House of Delegates will meet to discuss reports and resolutions regarding funding for mental health services, pregnancy planning, documentation on death certificates of smoking as a cause of death and use of reusable and recyclable materials. The meeting will also include election of officers, members of the Oklahoma delegation to the American Medical Association and directors of the Physician Liability Insurance Co. . .

- Dr. Paul Silverstein has been elected to second vice president of the American Burn Association for the 1991-92 term and is president-elect for the North American Burn Society for the 1992 term. Silverstein is medical director of Baptist Medical Center of Oklahoma's Burn Center and co-director of the Baromedical Unit at Baptist.

Silverstein has been in Fort Rucker, Ala., where he was invited to serve as a consultant visiting professor to the United States Army School of Aviation Medicine. He presented a dissertation on the acute treatment of burns and the use of hyperbaric oxygen in the therapy of burn patients. . .

- Anita Walker has joined the staff of therapists at The Family Center, a family therapy and crisis intervention clinic in Norman. Walker is a licensed professional counselor and is certified as a school counselor and school psychologist. . .

- "Ken Bonds Ave." has been unveiled at Baptist Medical Center of Oklahoma to honor Bonds for his 25 years as a member of the Baptist Medical Center and Oklahoma Healthcare Corp. Board of Directors. Bonds most recently served as the board's chairman. . .

- The College of Medicine at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center has received a $250,000 gift from members of The Upjohn Foundation and family to establish a $1 million chair in medicine. The Lawrence N. Upjohn chair in medicine will be filled by the OU College of Medicine incumbent dean, in memory of Upjohn, the founding dean of the college. Dr. Edward N. Brandt Jr., executive dean of the college, will be appointed to the chair at the May meeting of the OU Board of Regents.

Upjohn was head of the college of medicine's pre-medical department from 1900-1901, the officially recognized organization date for OU's medical school. Upjohn continued on the faculty as an anatomy professor until 1904. He resigned to join the Upjohn Co., which was founded by his uncle and father. He succeeded his uncle as president, became chairman of the board and died in 1967 at the age of 93.

The Upjohn Foundation and family have committed $500,000 over a three-year period to establish the chair. …

Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.