Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Traditions '91, Citizenship and Telephone Books

Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Traditions '91, Citizenship and Telephone Books

Article excerpt

Traditions '91 _ an Oklahoma Folklife Celebration will have its second outing Oct. 18, 19 and 21 in the Myriad Gardens downtown. Honorary chairs will be former Oklahoma Gov. George Nigh and his wife, Donna. He was governor when the first free festival was held.

Serving as general chairman for the 1991 version are Wayne and Helen Von Feldt.

Traditions '91 is a statewide event honoring Oklahoma's master traditional artists who will demonstrate the state's unique heritage. The free festival will feature music, art, displays, craft making, visual performances and a variety of foods.

Sponsors are the Oklahoma Folklife Council, the State Arts Council of Oklahoma and the City of Oklahoma City.

At the first Traditions, Oklahomans representing many countries manned booths to display their native crafts and foods. Out in the gardens, one tent featured dairy animals and processing while another showed horse shoeing. It was interesting and fun strolling from tent to tent. . .

The Nigh Institute of State Government and the University of Central Oklahoma will present "A Salute to Citizenship" and naturalization ceremony at noon Wednesday in the University Center Ballroom. (Better known as Central State University, the school name is changing officially on July 1.) Ceremonies are expected to be completed by 1:30 p.m. for those who plan to take off early for the Fourth of July holiday.

Featured speaker will be Oklahoma Supreme Court Chief Justice Marian P. Opala, who is a naturalized citizen.

Justices of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Oklahoma also will be in attendance.

During the program, 25 people will become new citizens of the United States. Prior to the formal ceremonies will be an old-fashioned picnic, complete with wandering barbershop quartet and food vendors.

Tickets for this salute to citizenship are $15 per person or $90 for a table which seats six. All seats are reserved. . .

Zach Taylor, executive director of the Association of Central Oklahoma Governments (ACOG), has received the highest award given by the National Association of Regional Councils to executive directors of councils of government. He received the Walter A. Scheiber Regional Leadership Award during the association's annual conference in Atlantic City. The award is named for the former executive director of the Metropolitan Washington (D.C.) Council of Governments, one of the founders of the national association.

Zach, director of ACOG since 1978, was selected for his "foresight, leadership and unparalleled ability to bring the people of a region together toward common goals." He is a member of the Leadership Oklahoma City Alumni Association and, with Sue Hale, will serve as program chair for class X of Leadership Oklahoma City, which begins in September. . .

Elected president of the Alumni Association of Leadership Oklahoma City for 1991-92 is Carl Shortt Jr. Other officers include Sherry Rice Rhodes, vice president; Jimmy Goodman, secretary, and Doug Stussi, treasurer. Mark Patton is immediate past president. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.