State Panel to Review Hazardous Waste Laws

Article excerpt

The leaders of the Oklahoma House of Representatives and Senate have appointed members to a special joint committee that will review state statutes which regulate hazardous waste, it was announced Wednesday.

House Speaker Glen D. Johnson, D-Okemah, and Senate President Pro Tempore Robert V. Cullison, D-Skiatook, picked a total of 22 members to serve on the Joint Committee to Study Statutes Related to the Siting, Disposal and Recycling of Controlled Industrial Waste.

Senators selected for the committee are Frank Shurden, D-Henryetta, Senate chairman of the committee; Ray Giles, D-Pocasset; Don Williams, D-Balko; Kevin Easley, D-Broken Arrow; Ed Long, D-Garber; Cal Hobson, D- Lexington; and Charles Ford, R-Tulsa, the Senate's minority leader.

Johnson will serve on the committee, along with Reps. M.C. Leist, D-Morris, House chairman of the committee; George Vaughn, D-Big Cabin; Larry E. Adair, D-Stilwell; Dwayne Steidley, D-Claremore; Jerry Hefner, D-Wagoner; Larry Rice, D-Pryor; Don McCorkell, D-Tulsa; Grover Campbell, R-Owasso; Frank Lucas, R-Cheyenne; Emil Grieser, D-Hobart; Sean Voskuhl, D-Marshall; Gary Bastin, D-Del City; Mike Mass, D-Hartshorne; and Larry Ferguson, R-Cleveland, the House minority leader-elect.

The joint legislative committee was authorized in Senate Bill 28, passed by the 1991 Legislature as a response to citizen concerns about a number of proposed hazardous waste sites in Oklahoma. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.