Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

James Young Named United Way Chairman

Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

James Young Named United Way Chairman

Article excerpt

James Young, president of The Bank of Oklahoma NA, has been elected chairman of the United Way of Metro Oklahoma City board of directors. Patrick Ryan is immediate past chairman.

Others elected to a one-year term include James Hyde, chairman elect; Edmund Martin, vice chairman; and G. Rainey Williams, secretary-treasurer.

Those elected to three-year terms include Paula Hearn, director of the State Office of Central Services; Drew Roy president of the Oklahoma division of Southwestern Bell Telephone Co.; Donn Shoultz, district manager for International Business Machines Corp.; Robert Vervinck, personnel director at the General Motors Corp. assembly plant; John Walker, district manager for Target stores; and Ron Williams, member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 2021 at AT T Technologies Inc. Oklahoma City Works.

Board members returning for another three-year term are Raul Font, Joan Maguire, Gen. Joseph K. Spiers and Williams. Returning for a two-year term is Martha Lippert, and Sheila McCormick and Charlie Fine are returning for one-year terms.

New ex-officio board members taking seats on the 1993 board include Beverly Binkowski, Blue Cross-Blue Shield, communications committee chair, and Roger Callison, Guthrie Cotton Oil, president of First Capital United Way in Logan County. . . David R. Smith, president and chief executive officer of Midwest Trophy Co., all-American athlete and winning coach, is scheduled to be inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame of Oklahoma Christian University of Science and Arts on Saturday. . . Marcy Denney Taylor has been named executive coordinator for Hatfield Bell Inc., a marketing and public relations firm in Norman. Taylor will oversee projects, develop proposals for potential clients and acts as liaison between staff and management. . . Teresa Edwards has been named art director, and Jenny Monroe has been named media planner-buyer of Jordan Associates Advertising-Communications of Oklahoma City.

Edwards will work on advertising and collateral materials for Hardee's Food Systems in 18 states and for other clients. Monroe will work principally on media planning and buying for C.R. Anthony Co., which operates apparel stores in 11 states.

Jordan Associates provides advertising, public relations, direct marketing and sales promotion services. . . Stephen Schwarz has been named division vice president, data center operations, for The Hertz Corp. Schwarz is responsible for commercial account services, credit and collections, fleet accounting and Hertz Equipment Rental Corp. accounting, and budget and control. . . Chris Ahearn has joined Scrivner Inc. as director of corporate communications. Ahearn's responsibilities will include both internal and external public relations as well as government relations for the company.

Scrivner is one of the largest food distributors and retailers in the United States, serving 5,000 stores in 33 states. . . Ann Felton and Burns Hargis have been named co-chairs for the annual Circles of Excellence Dinner sponsored by the Baptist Medical Center Foundation. …

Author Advanced search


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.