Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation to Honor Scientists, Board Member

Article excerpt

The Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation will honor a pair of scientists and a board member at is annual honors and awards banquet on Tuesday at Cain's Ballroom in Tulsa.

OMRF will award Linda Thompson the Edward L. and Thelma Gaylord Prize for Scientific Achievement. Fletcher Taylor Jr. will be recognized as a Distinguished Career Scientist. W. Lance Benham III also will receive the Board of Directors Distinguished Service Award.

Thompson becomes only the 13th scientist in OMRF history to receive the Gaylord Prize, OMRF's highest scientific honor. The award is named for the late Edward L. Gaylord, who served on OMRF's board for more than 40 years, and his late wife, Thelma.

Thompson is being honored for her pioneering genetics studies in the area of adenosine deaminase deficiency, a rare and potentially fatal immune system disorder that leaves the body open to infection and viruses.

"Because of the importance of Dr. Thompson's work, it's fitting that she receive OMRF's equivalent of the Nobel Prize," said Stephen Prescott, OMRF president. "Important insights have come from her work, and they've given hope to patients with an array of health problems."

A member of OMRF's Immunobiology and Cancer Research Program, Thompson holds the Putnam City Schools Distinguished Chair in Cancer Research. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.