Newspaper article Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Pittsburgh, PA)

There's a Legal and Safe Way to Relinquish a Newborn

Newspaper article Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Pittsburgh, PA)

There's a Legal and Safe Way to Relinquish a Newborn

Article excerpt

Every state in the nation has what is known as a "Safe Haven" law that allows for the legal relinquishing of an infant, up to 28 days old. No questions asked.

The Pennsylvania law, also known as the Newborn Protection Act, was enacted in 2002 and was amended in 2014. Since 2003, 29 babies have been relinquished throughout Pennsylvania, according to the website http://www.secretsafe.org/FactSheet.aspx.

It notes:

"If you're not ready to take care of a newborn and don't have anyone to ask for help, there's a place where you can take your baby to ensure his or her safety and health. If you are not able to care for your baby, all you have to do is bring your newborn [up to 28 days old] to any Pennsylvania hospital or to a police officer at a police station and drop it off. That's all.

"As long as the baby is unharmed and not a victim of any crime, you will not be in any trouble. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.