Newspaper article The Record (Bergen County, NJ)

N.J. Localities on First Federal 'Sanctuary' List

Newspaper article The Record (Bergen County, NJ)

N.J. Localities on First Federal 'Sanctuary' List

Article excerpt

Three counties and one city in New Jersey were identified Monday by the Department of Homeland Security as jurisdictions that refuse to cooperate with federal requests to detain undocumented immigrants.

The city of Newark and Middlesex, Ocean and Union counties were listed in the first ever weekly "Declined Detainer Outcome Report," which lists convictions of undocumented immigrants for various crimes and the localities that have policies that "limit cooperation" with U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

President Donald Trump directed the Department of Homeland Security to compile the weekly reports in executive orders on immigration. The goal, one order said, was to "better inform the public regarding the public safety threats associated with sanctuary jurisdictions" that won't detain immigrants. Another order called for officials to report on the crimes committed by undocumented immigrants.

The federal report released Monday lists 206 cases in which undocumented immigrants were arrested on local charges that ranged from sexual assault to driving under the influence -- and were set to be released from jails. ICE officials requested that the local authorities hold onto those people for up to 48 hours -- a request known as a "detainer" -- but the requests were denied.The denials took place the week of Jan. 28 through Feb. 3.

The report did not include any crimes committed in New Jersey, but the it singled out four New Jersey jurisdictions for their policies on immigration holds.

The reported cited:

Newark for not honoring ICE detainers under a policy the city's Police Department enacted in July 2013.

Middlesex County for enacting a policy in July 2014, which states it will not honor ICE detainers unless an individual is charged with a first- or second-degree crime, is identified as a gang member or has been issued a final order of deportation.

Union County for a policy adopted in 2014 to not honor ICE detainers without warrant, court order or other "legally sufficient proof" of probable cause from the federal agency.

Ocean County's Department of Corrections for enacting a policy in 2014 that calls for ICE detainers not to be honored unless the individual has an indictable offense of the first, second, or third degree that involves either an offense that's a danger to the person or community, property and against public order, health or decency. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.