Newspaper article The Topeka Capital-Journal

Four Wildcats, One Jayhawk on Big 12 Coaches All-Conference First Team

Newspaper article The Topeka Capital-Journal

Four Wildcats, One Jayhawk on Big 12 Coaches All-Conference First Team

Article excerpt

Kansas State had five first-team selections on the All-Big 12 football team, including Topeka senior Will Geary and two-way pick D.J. Reed, and Kansas had one first-team player in voting by the conference coaches announced Thursday.

Geary, a defensive tackle from Topeka High, received votes for defensive lineman of the year, an award that went to Texas defensive tackle Poona Ford. Reed was voted first team as a defensive back and kick/punt returner and was joined on the first team by offensive tackle Dalton Risner and kicker Matthew McCrane.

Reed, at defensive back, and Risner are repeat selections from last year's coaches all-conference team. Geary was honorable mention on the coaches team the previous two years (he was first team on The Associated Press team as a sophomore and junior).

Kansas' first-team selection was defensive tackle Daniel Wise, who received votes for defensive lineman of the year.

Second-team selections from K-State were fullback Winston Dimel, defensive end Reggie Walker and punter Nick Walsh. Earning honorable mention were defensive tackle Trey Dishon, linebackers Jayd Kirby and Trent Tanking, cornerback Duke Shelley and kick/punt returner Byron Pringle.

Reed received votes for special teams player of the year, with Texas punter Michael Dickson winning the award. K-State quarterback Skylar Thompson received votes for offensive freshman of the year.

Jayhawks on the second team were tight end Ben Johnson, defensive end Dorance Armstrong and linebacker Joe Dineen. Receiving honorable mention were offensive lineman Hakeem Adeniji, place-kicker Gabriel Rui, wide receiver/returner Steve Sims and defensive back Bryce Torneden.

Among the individual awards were Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, offensive player of the year; Texas linebacker Malik Jefferson and Oklahoma defensive end Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, co-defensive players of the year; and Matt Campbell, Iowa State, coach of the year.



Quarterback: Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma.

Running back: David Montgomery, Iowa State; Justice Hill, Oklahoma State. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.