Newspaper article The Canadian Press

SportsCall Audio 6:50 PM ET

Newspaper article The Canadian Press

SportsCall Audio 6:50 PM ET

Article excerpt

SportsCall Audio 6:50 PM ET

--

NAT109 - (SPORTS-TEN-US-Open) (NOT FOR ONLINE USE) NEW YORK. x-11s. Serena Williams angrily responded to a code violation for coaching at the U-S Open women's final by telling the chair umpire that she'd "rather lose" than cheat. Williams was given the violation by Carlos Ramos of Portugal in the second game of the second set while Naomi Osaka was serving. Williams approached the chair and told Ramos that she was not being coached, but rather being given a thumbs up from her box, which she said she not have been a violation. Frustrated by the incident, Williams called the chair umpire a thief. ("..from me.") (SOURCE:ABC)

TAG: Naomi Osaka would go on to win 6-2, 6-4, becoming the first Grand Slam champion from Japan. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.